The Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova

The HistorianThe Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was incredible. As soon as I finished it, I couldn’t wait to read it again (the only thing stopping me was the promise I made to a friend to lend it to her as soon as I was finished). The story reads like a historical travelogue and has a little bit of supernatural edged in, sewn together with suspense and skillful storytelling.

I almost hate to mention the fact that the story centers around vampire lore and the existence of a real vampire because the book is so well-written that it carries its own regardless of whether you are into supernatural books or not. The bottom line is that Elizabeth Kostova made the ten years she spent researching and writing this book worth every day. It’s a beautiful story that includes themes of family and love, journeys through Europe and Eastern Europe spanning the 1900s…

The one word that comes to mind when I think of this book is beautiful. In fact, after writing this, I think I will read it again.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

